A typical village in the municipality of Barberino di Mugello, Galliano is located close to the Apennines mountains and has very ancient origins.
Its history is closely connected to the Ubaldini's family, whose settlement dates back to 600 AD with the barbarian invasions.
In 1010, the control of the family was extended to the Tuscan-Emilian Apennines, so much that the Northern slope was defined “Alpes Ubaldinem”. In 1186, the children of Ubaldino of Mugello and Greccio Ottaviano ratified the act of the asset division, giving rise to three distinct branches of the family: one based in Galliano, one in Senni and one in Montaccianico.
Although the foundation of the village dates back to the first decades of the year 1000, the words "Borgum Gallani" appear only with the will of Ubaldo Ubaldini. The village was founded only after the Ubaldini family's residence, specifically when some vassals approached the fortress of lords, ensuring greater protection in case of danger.
The strategic position of the town (near the "step of the tavern burned”, the main road between Florence and northern Italy until 1306), gave to the family of Ubaldini great power and was one of their main sources of income, having regard to the payment of the various tolls to travellers.
In 1351, Milan troops headed toward Scarperia and managed to conquer the village of Galliano as well as many other lands of Mugello. In Galliano, they attacked the castle and sacked all the houses of the area. Once the government of Florence had rejected the Visconti, it decided to break down Galliano's fortress and castle.
Since 1400, Galliano 'resurrected', hosting some of the largest and wealthiest Florentine families; so, in a few decades, most of the farms and lands were acquired by the powerful family of Medici of Florence.
At the end of the 15th century, with the exile of the Medici and the sale of their land, there was a new rise of the Ubaldini, which contributed to a significant expansion of the town of Galliano.
With the death of Giuseppe Ubaldini in 1804, the legacy passed into the hands of the family of Geppi, who built and consecrated the new church of St. Bartholomeo and he was responsible for the maintenance of other buildings in the village, still existing nowadays.
Nowadays, the village retains its shape given by the families who dominated and offers visitors a peculiar pleasant rural scenery of Mugello.