As well as many other towns in Mugello, the origins of this village are related to the powerful Ubaldini family.
This family was responsible for the creation of the great Camaldolese Monastery of St. Peter in 1086; as a matter of fact, after the donation of some lands to the Camaldolese' order and the visit of the prior of Camaldoli Beato Rudolfo Falcucci, the project of a female monastery in Luco was born.
Needless to say that the prestige and the power of the Monastery grew more and more, also thanks to the many donations made by the nuns, many of which belonged to some of the most illustrious and aristocratic families in the area (Ubaldini, Uberti, Visdomini Tosinghi, Tavanti, Bardi, Della Casa, etc.).
The fortune of the monastery aroused envy and many contrasts, so much that in 1251 and 1490 it was attacked and destroyed.
In 1523, the history of the monastery was characterized by the residence of the Florentine painter Andrea del Sarto, who was fleeing from the epidemic of plague that raged in the city. A sign of his passage has been found in the Great Wheel which he painted for the high altar of the church of the Monastery ("Deposition of Christ from the Cross"), now preserved in the Palatine gallery of the Pitti Palace in Florence.
The monastery was suppressed by the government of Florence in 1808 and, in 1871, it became the hospital of the Mugello area until 1990, when it was replaced by the new one in Borgo San Lorenzo.