Oratory of the SS. Crucifix of the Miracles
This oratory was built during the first half of the 18th century to house a wooden cross, which had recovery powers. Inside there are considerable Carrara marble floor and other decorations realized with very precious marbles. Today it is still shown to the congregation only to celebrate some festivity.
The painted wood-made crucifix, probably the work of Giovanni Pisano, had been left here in 1400 by some German pilgrims fleeing from the plague. Many miracles are assigned to this crucifix, like the end of the plague in 1400 and the release by the French in 1799.
Information and Opening Hours
The mess celebration are held regularly and the Church is open to visits and worship.
Opening hours: open every day from 07:30 to 12:00 and from 16:00 to 19:00
Address: Strada Provinciale 13 Cassia, at the street corner between Via Piero Caiani and Viale Pecori Giraldi, Borgo San Lorenzo
Phone: 055 8459088