The small building is located near the ruins of the castle (in whose perimeter the church was built, around the year one thousand), belonging to the bishops of Fiesole from IX.
The structure of the church is very simple: plant with a single nave closed by a semicircular apse, covered with exposed trusses and bell tower. Inside is preserved a stucco bas-relief depicting a "Madonna and Child", of the fifteenth century.
The current appearance is due to a restoration of 1959 (due to the damage suffered during the Second World War), which recovered the medieval structures although the original sixteenth-century portico. In fact, as we can infer from the writings of Bishop Benozzo Federighi (who visited the church in 1434), the original style was totally Romanesque, with a roof covered with wooden trusses, the floor paved with stone, six altars along the walls and altar greater in the presbytery.
In the middle of the seventeenth century the church underwent a first restoration (after which, in 1652, was consecrated by the diocesan bishop Monsignor Roberto Strozzi), being completely transformed: the walls were plastered, the four-century stone pulpit destroyed, two portals were walled up, and two side altars adorned with heavy stone frames.
To the right of the entrance door is the "Holy Door", a small walled-up door that was opened on the occasion of special celebration called "Holy Year", which took place every 25 years from 1655 until 1980. The festivities lasted about a week, and upon completion the door was walled up again. The original location of the port is unknown, the current risle the restoration occurred in 1959.
INFO: 1, Monteloro Street - 50065 Pontassieve (FI)
tel: +39-055 271071, +39-055 8309588