Humidity: 56%

Wind: 12.87 km/h

It now houses the Town Hall of Pontassieve; the palace was built in the mid-700, and occupies the high side of the castle square of Pontassieve.

Once center of economic, religious, political and social life, under the power of the family of Anforti, the building passed to Trombetta (banking family from the island of Corfu), in the '800, after the family was related to that of Livorno Sansoni (hence the name Sansoni-Trombetta).

Inside the palace are preserved till today the coats of arms of the mayor lived there: a nineteenth-century coat of arms of the family Trombetta in conjunction with other unknown and a coat of arms knight (Anforti), two small plaques in memory of the mayor Falcucci (1627) and Busatti (1659).

The double height of the rooms, has led to the execution of a cycle of eight paintings that decorate the Great Hall. It is a cycle of works, (attributed to Ferdinand Folchi), illustrating the heroic acts of seven women celebrities, among which were for the time being recognized: Chinzica of Sismondi, in the act of embracing her son (legendary heroine lived in Pisa 'XI century), and  Lucrezia Mazzanti from Figline, which flows from the bridge of Incisa to escape the mercenaries who were besieging the Florentine Republic (1529-30).

In the central fresco stands the emblem of Trombetta between Italy, proudly holding the flag of the newfound unity, and a Greece, still under the Ottoman Empire, admires Italy and thoughtful holds a statuette of Minerva warrior.
In the background a sea island of Corfu, the home, and Florence, the chosen land of Trombetta. (The work to date around 1865-70, when Florence was the capital of the kingdom.)


Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II)
tel: +39-055 83601


Mugello: the green rolling hills surrounding Florence offer many resources not only for nature lovers, but also for people who love sport, shopping and engines. All this in a single and beautiful land.